Ebb and Flow…

It’s been a mixed week…a couple of missed days on the new novel draft though I’ve been consistent with the NaNo writing project, adding more words to the 30,000 that I finished with last month.

I  was hit with my first case of discouragement with new novel draft.  Not feeling excited about my story idea, wondering if it is any good, if it’s too ambitious an idea.  Can I even execute it well?  Ugh! I even started comparing my idea to the storylines of established authors out there, and that discouraged me as well.  How do people come up with such brilliant, fresh ideas?  And will I ever come up with anything as brilliant or fresh?

My new novel idea seemed amateurish compared to what’s out there.  Those missed two days of writing didn’t help encourage me any.  On Day 7 I was ready to throw in the towel.

I found the spark again a little last night as I put down some more words – forced myself to write out a scene.  I’m excited again.  I guess this is all part of the ebb and flow of writing – some highs, some lows.

My lesson: just don’t give up.  Resist the temptation.

I’m thankful this week that I did.

Have a great week ROW80ers!

2 thoughts on “Ebb and Flow…

  1. So glad you didn’t give up! I know what it feels like because I’ve been there too. What sometimes helps me is to keep some crap really badly written books in the house and when I’m feeling bad about my writing I look at them. Bizarrely its very encouraging because you only have to read a bit and you soon start thinking I can write better than this! Someone published this rubbish! If this idiot can get published, then so can I!

  2. Ooh, those darned voices in our heads! I say bury them with a pile of words! Your freshness and sparkling ideas will come out as you practice. Those other authors didn’t start out writing the way they do now. Good for you for not giving up!

Leave a Reply

