The Last Check-In…

I’m writing this as the family prepares to leave for California for Christmas.  A road trip.  It’s snowing too.  I can’t wait to get passed it for warmer pastures, though I have to admit the snow is very pretty.

I can’t believe it’s the last check-in for Round 4 (and I’m late).  It’s been a good and productive round what with Nano thrown in.  A little bit of a mixed bag too, since I accomplished more of the writing goals: 6-7 pages a day, though not enough of the tweaking goals (I call them): that paranormal revision still needs completing and I haven’t worked on the two query letters and synopses that I had planned on working on.   Goals accomplished below are in bold.

1. Finish revising the last 20 pages of my paranormal mystery.  Print out and read through draft, making notes.

2. Work on and and complete the query letters and synopses for the paranormal mystery and my cozy mystery.

3.  Write 6-7 pages on each day on a work in progress.  {I’ve actually been working on two so I’ve exceed this goal]

4. Spend 30 minutes of each scheduled writing day (3 per week) developing my Harlem Renaissance mystery idea.

And a bonus goal that won’t take up too much brainpower just fingerpower:

5.  Type up 3 pages a day of existing screenplay into computer until complete.

So more writing happened this round, not as much as the “administrative” portion.   I can’t wait to jump into Round 1 of next year’s ROW80, though I’ll still be plugging away through the holidays – trying to meet those daily word goals.  The laptop is coming with me and I figured 17 hours in a car – I should get something accomplished, right?  I’m hoping to sneak out one morning to a Starbuck’s for a couple of hours: gingerbread latte and writing make for a lovely combination.

Thanks for all your support, ROW80ers.  It’s been fun.  Can’t wait to catch up with you in the next round.

9 thoughts on “The Last Check-In…

  1. I struggle with the “administrative” stuff too. I’d mostly be perfectly happy to just write the words out of my head, but that of course won’t pay bills. So if I want to have more time to write, then I have to clean up in hopes of selling so I can scale back the day job in exchange for writing time. Good luck with your car writing!

  2. Gingerbread latte, yum, especially after 17 hours in a car. We do a 14 hour trip once a year to visit family in Wyoming so I know the joy, however, for some reason I never get to do much work. Oh yeah, hard to type when driving although I’m wondering if voice recognition software would work.

    Have a great vacation/holidays and see you in 2012 🙂

  3. Nice work! Watching the snow fall would be inspirational for writing, but sadly in Australia we don’t really get any aside from on a few mountains. 17 hours should hopefully give you lots of words to add to your manuscript 🙂

  4. Looking forward to seeing you in 2012. I plan to start the year off with major goals and reading to kick some word butt.

    Wishing you the best of the holiday season and many blessings (and high word counts) in 2012.

  5. Good job writing every day. Welcome to California! I’m also going to continuing writing through the holidays and what’s left of the rest of the year on a first draft. Then start 2012 with a fresh plan. Merry Christmas. See you in 2012.

Leave a Reply

