NaNoWriMo and Some Doubts…

It’s been all about NaNo these days.  I’m striving to reach that daily word count of 1,667 per day which falls into my ROW 80 goal of reaching 2000 words per day.  I’m a little behind but feel in a good enough place to catch up.  The draft I’m working on is a sci-fi thriller/mystery which I’m getting excited about though I find myself struggling at times to fill in the gaps of my story.  I’m in love with the characters though and can’t wait to see where this story leads.

Though NaNo has been consistent, the revising/editing of two of my other novel drafts has not.  It’s been barely existent which makes me sad.  My writing times have not been uninterrupted and the priorities of other life stuff have intruded.  I’m hoping to get back on track this week with my writing schedule – sticking to those writing times like glue.

ROW80ers, how has your progress been?

I have been having those creepy little doubts about being a published author, working screenwriter, etc. etc.  I’m forty-*cough* and I find myself wondering if it will ever happen to me.  Especially as I read other books that are sooo good.  So good.  Could I ever be as good as them?  Not to mention that novel writing process can be a long one, so by the time I’m done will it have been years from now before I get a book published?  These are just the thoughts that have been running through my head lately.  I’m making every effort to fight them and to keep at it.

So I continue…

Wishing all you ROW80ers a week of words and progress!

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo and Some Doubts…

  1. It’s normal to have days like this. Keep writing and you’ll find bits of gold that make it all worthwhile. You’re not alone. I know all too well those days when I seem to have lost my way and I wonder why I’m wasting my time writing when the WIP will never be good enough to publish.

  2. I want to let you know, I have the same fears as you. You are not alone and the unknown sucks. But what else can we do? Giving up doesn’t feel like an option. (At least, that’s how it feels for me.) We can only try harder.

    And my progress on goals ins’t ideal. I’m going to try and kick some butt on them today. I’m not participating in NaNo (because I am a wuss and have enough on my plate).

  3. I didn’t even start until I was 40! That’s the year I wrote the first novel. I’m coming up on 45, and I feel great about where I’m headed. Since I plan to live another 45 years, I have plenty of time. 🙂 So do you!

    It sounds like you’re doing well with NaNoWriMo! Keep it up. Have a marvelous week!

Leave a Reply

