Taking A Risk…

August already? Wow.

The outside writing time this week has been inside since my husband was away on business and I was solo parent this week to our three boys. I was still able to get together with my fellow writer this past Monday. Going over the mystery thriller – Lily’s Hope – was amazing and enlightening. I was giddy at the end of it. So glad and grateful that we are getting together like this every Monday evening. It’s pushing me to have at least ten new pages at minimum done every week. I’m still aiming for that goal of 28 pages a week — haven’t reached it yet but am hopeful.

Interestingly enough, I took a risk this week with my mystery thriller. One that leaves my heart in my throat even now as I type this.

I have now put my heart and baby (the mystery thriller – Lily’s Hope) out there to the world – so to speak. Outside of my writer’s workshop group (6 women) that meets once a month and the fellow writer who I meet with once a week to go over my pages, I am going to have a a few friends read chapters of story every week as I write it and get their feedback on it. Just from a reader’s perspective. Not in-depth constructive criticism (unless they want to give it), just get a sense of whether they are intrigued and enjoying the book. And if it flows well and makes sense to them.

Am I crazy? I think. It’s risky (for my heart and ego mostly) but I figured I could gauge whether this story is intriguing enough to hold readers. Maybe if it’s good enough, I could gain a tiny buzz from it. And it will push me to finish knowing I have readers expecting those next chapters. Nothing like a little pressure.

I felt maybe it’s about time I put my writing out there to people — and getting feedback from readers who read mystery novels could prove to be extremely helpful. Thankfully, they are people who know me so even if I fall flat on my face, there won’t completely shun me.

Ahh…we’ll see.

Have an amazing week, ROW80ers!

8 thoughts on “Taking A Risk…

  1. Taking those risks is always difficult(at least for me). But, that’s what I’m planning to do with mine once I get it back from my CP and fix it up. Want to make sure those readers(who aren’t writers) would like it too. Hoping you get good feedback on it.

  2. Good job, Mel! You’re not crazy, just taking a risk. And without risk, the reward isn’t as great! πŸ™‚ I’m proud of you, and hope I get to be a reader too! -Amy

  3. Alberta, thank you! I’m still shaking in my boots over what I did but I think it will be a good thing. I believe it will make me a better writer. Hopefully, that’s the case.

    All the best with you this week as well!

  4. You are very brave! I’ve only been able to convince myself to let my writer’s group members read my current WIP so far… It is definitely a good idea to gauge interest, though. I think ten pages a week is pretty impressive, but good luck getting to 28! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

