Enter the Outline

Since Wednesday, the writing has been fairly consistent which makes me happy.

I have been working on both the paranormal thriller (Lily’s Hope) and the mainstream novel project. Working on each project by writing in 10 page increments. It’s been good. Slow yet deliberate. And I’ve been inspired to squeeze in some writing in between the scheduled writing times which has been nice.

The process still feels never-ending.

This week I made a decision to put more emphasis and time on my novel outlines. To do some extensive outlining on the existing writing projects above and on a few future projects – one of which I may use as a basis for my next Nano (National Novel Writing Month) writing project. Lately, I’ve been hearing that some really successful authors outline extensively – putting a lot of time and energy into their outlines, which then results in a smooth novel writing effort. Ken Follet did this with Pillars of the Earth. Outlined extensively for about a year. Amazing. Yet it makes perfect sense.

Now I don’t know if I could strictly work on an outline for a novel for a year but I’m noticing there is something to laying out the details of the story and working them out through the outline. For me, this will require lots of patience since most times, I just want to get to writing and creating scenes. I’m looking forward to the outlining though. There are so many scenes that run through my head for the various different story ideas I have, I’m beginning to think I need to outline. I also need to desperately pick out the holes in my stories and fill them.

So onward I go — writing and outlining along the way. Wishing all you ROW80ers a great week of writing and progress.

2 thoughts on “Enter the Outline

  1. I keep reading outlining can help progress have never managed to do it yet at least not on paper, it’s in my head I guess – well done on the writing and all the best for this week:)

Leave a Reply

