Slow Starting…

The writing in the past week and a half has been like a car starting slow at first. I didn’t make great leaps in the pages I wanted to cover. I haven’t been fully disciplined with keeping to my writing schedule. I had another book review deadline that I had to meet and that took precedence over the writing. Not much time writing away from home either. I haven’t touched the paranormal thriller or the mainstream for that matter. Hoping to get into the schedule and jump in this week.

I did make some progress on a revision, though. Completed what I scheduled out to do for last week and the beginning of this week which is great because out of all the stories and half-completed drafts I have, this one is the closest to being complete and possibly published.

I’ve been considering self-publishing, lately. A good friend of mine just did it and she’s so happy. She’s taking publishing into her own hands and likes it.

Any of you out there self-publish or are planning to? What are the pros and cons? Would love some feedback.

In the meantime, hoping for more progress this week and wishing the same for you, ROW80ers.

Have an amazing week!

2 thoughts on “Slow Starting…

  1. Hello, Melanie. Sometimes the writing needs to come slowly. Just keep writing! Actually, I’m in the middle of self-publishing (and writing about the process). Stop by my blog if you’re interested. This week I’m working on a video trailer for my book and a Facebook author page. Marketing is somewhat intimidating, far harder for me than writing. But your post reminds me that the writing is central. Persevere!

  2. I felt like that today, too, but the great thing about a slow start is that eventually, it turns into nice, smooth sailing.

    Personally, I’ve really enjoyed self-publishing, but I think I’d like to have a balance between both. I have a feeling it’ll be self-publishing for a while, though. I know I’m good enough, so it’s basically cutting out a lot of the industry BS…

Leave a Reply

