A NaNo Unfinish

Today is the last day of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and this year I will definitely not finish.  However, after having finally finished a NaNo last year, after having done it for four years in a row, I am not too down about not completing NaNo.  Actually, I am completely encouraged.

I guess having had the experience of attempting NaNo for now the fifth year, I realized that writing some words is better than writing none.  I will be at least 20,000 words further in my new novel draft than I would have been a month ago.  In previous years, it’s been 26,000  35,000 words, 39, 000 words.  I have also realized that my key  current works-in-progress which I have been working on and finishing up are from each of those NaNo projects.  I didn’t realize that until I looked back.  And that’s encouraging.  My current novel projects began with NaNo.

So that is the reason I am encouraged. Because if the trend continues, this year’s NaNo project will become another one of my key novels.

Interesting what happens when I have the perspective of looking back.

I haven’t worked on Lily’s Hope in a couple of weeks because this NaNo project has been my focus.  I look forward to returning to it soon, though.

One thought on “A NaNo Unfinish

  1. I didn’t finish NaNo this year either. I got behind (and as you can tell from the late comment – I’m still late!). I love your positive outlook, and the benefits of taking part – it really is great to reflect and see how much we’ve grown.

Leave a Reply

